Clinical Quality Measures

Beginning in 2014, you must attest to 9 CQMs that cover at least three of six NQS domains[ read more ]

CQMs fall under one of six National Quality Strategy (NQS) domains.

  • Patient and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population and Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Processes/Effectiveness

EHR technology that has been certified to the 2014 standards and capabilities will contain new CQM criteria, and eligible professionals will report using the new 2014 criteria regardless of whether they are participating in Stage 1 or Stage 2 of the EHR Incentive Programs.

Recommended Core Set

For 2014, CMS is not requiring the submission of a core set of electronic CQMs (eCQMs). Instead, CMS has identified two recommended core sets of eCQMs - one for adults and one for children—that focus on high-priority health conditions and best - practices for care delivery.

  • 9 eCQMs for adult populations that meet all of the program requirements
  • 9 eCQMs for pediatric populations that meet all of the program requirements

EHR Reporting Options for Eligible Professionals in 2014 Include:

Options that only apply for the EHR Incentive Program

Option 1: Attest to CQMs through the EHR Registration & Attestation System

Option 2: eReport CQMs through Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) Portal

All Medicare eligible professionals have the option of submitting three months of CQM data online through the CMS Registration & Attestation System. Medicare eligible professionals also have the option to submit a full year of data electronically using the QRDA format to receive credit for the EHR Incentive Program and the Physician Quality Reporting System. Please note that your attestation for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program is not complete until you submit clinical quality measure data, so your EHR incentive payment will be held until your electronic submission is processed. Medicaid eligible professionals must submit their clinical quality measurement data to their State Medicaid Beginning in 2014, eligible professionals must select and report on 9 of a possible list of 64 approved CQMs for the EHR Incentive Programs. For a complete list of the 2014 CQMs for the EHR Incentive Programs and their associated National Quality Strategy domains on the Clinical Quality Measure webpage at